Bluebird

by Sharon Cameron

Book, 2021

Barcode

123462380

Call number

YA FIC CAM

Collections

Publication

Scholastic Press (2021), 464 pages

Description

Author of Reese's Book Club YA Pick The Light in Hidden Places, Sharon Cameron, delivers an emotionally gripping and utterly immersive thriller, perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys's Salt to the Sea. In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for the streets of New York City, stepping from the fiery aftermath of one war into another, far colder one, where power is more important than principles, and lies are more plentiful than the truth. Eva holds the key to a deadly secret: Project Bluebird -- a horrific experiment of the concentration camps, capable of tipping the balance of world power. Both the Americans and the Soviets want Bluebird, and it is something that neither should ever be allowed to possess. But Eva hasn't come to America for secrets or power. She hasn't even come for a new life. She has come to America for one thing: justice. And the Nazi that has escaped its net. Critically acclaimed author of The Light in Hidden Places Sharon Cameron weaves a taut and affecting thriller ripe with intrigue and romance in this alternately chilling and poignant portrait of the personal betrayals, terrifying injustices, and deadly secrets that seethe beneath the surface in the aftermath of World War II.… (more)

User reviews

LibraryThing member susan0316
This wonderful, insightful novel begins in 1946 when Eva is arriving in New City from the rubble of Berlin. She's taking care of a young girl who can't speak for herself. Brigit has been unable to speak since a terrible event happened to her during the war. Eva works to make everyone believe that
Show More
she is in America to start a new life but the truth is that she holds a deadly secret. She has been asked by the CIA to participate in project Bluebird - a plan to find a Nazi doctor who was working on developing mind control and is hiding in the US to avoid Nuremberg trials. The doctor worked on his theory using prisoners in the concentration camps with no regard to whether they lived or died due to his experiments. Once he is found, the government plans to make sure that he stays free and works for them to further develop mind control. Eva agreed to help to get out of Germany but her plan is much different -- she wants revenge for all of the atrocities that were performed on the prisoners at the camps.

When Eva was growing up in Berlin during the war, she believed the rhetoric of the Nazis. Her parents and the rest of the family followed Nazi beliefs and were enamored with Hitler. As the war continued and she learned more about the concentration camps and the treatment of Jewish people, the more she turned away from Nazi beliefs. When the war ends in defeat, she begins to question everything and works to help other people and get revenge for them on the people who treated them so cruelly.

This book was well written and it is apparent that a lot of research was done. I had never heard of project Bluebird and spent some time on goggle learning about it. This book has it all - it's full of suspense, friendship and a bit of romance. It's full of twists and turns and hope that Eva finds the guilty people before they find her and kill her.

This was a book that I didn't want to put down and now I know that I need to check out earlier books by this author.
Show Less
LibraryThing member muddyboy
The novel starts with dual stories - In one two "German" girls are escaping from their country as Hitler falls. Their father is a Nazi doctor. The second story is about two recent immigrant girls new to America. As the book develops the book loses focus on the "German" pair and hones in the
Show More
American duo. This book has a different kind of Holocaust twist as the girls are not Jewish. The title Bluebird comes from a secret Nazi program to totally change people into something they are not The novel seems a little advanced for the seventh grade and up audience it is projected for.
Show Less
LibraryThing member wagner.sarah35
This novel, set in Germany and the U.S. after World War II, reads like a compelling thriller. Eva arrives in the U.S. with secrets and a mission to kill her father. As she attempts to unravel her own complicated past, Eva wants justice - something government agents (both American and Soviet) stand
Show More
in the way of as they try to recruit her father. All of which makes for a compelling read, one that went by faster than I expected. I also appreciated the complicated and nuanced conversations about justice, morality, and war crimes that this book raised and managed to present from multiple perspectives.
Show Less
LibraryThing member fromthecomfychair
Sometimes, I get WWII historical fiction fatigue, because it seems there is so much of it compared to any other historical period. Fully one-quarter of the historical fiction titles on my library's teen department shelves are devoted to some aspect of WWII. And some of the best of teen historical
Show More
fiction is set during WWII: The Book Thief, and Code Name Verity, for example.

Bluebird is going to be added to the list of the best. It's a well-written, couldn't put-downable book set in Germany and America, at the end of the war. Its heroine is a German girl who discovers the sins of her father, a Nazi doctor, and determines that she will go to America where her father has fled, and she will mete out the justice he deserves.

I really hate when I need to be doing something else, but I just can't stop reading, as happened to me on Sunday morning. There is a thriller wrapped within this historical fiction, and it carries you through at break-neck speed.

Although this book is marketed as young adult, it could easily be enjoyed by adults, and I wouldn't recommend it to younger teens.

If I gave it less than 5 full stars, it's only because at the beginning, the author seems to be alternating between two completely separate stories. It makes sense later, but I was confused at the beginning.
Show Less
LibraryThing member HeatherLINC
Eva is the daughter of a powerful Nazi doctor who carried out mind-control experiments of various victims. Growing up in Berlin, Eva and her best friend, Annemarie, believed the rhetoric of the Nazis, however, now that the Germans have been defeated, Eva has learnt more about what happened in the
Show More
concentration camps and has moved away from their ideals.

Now a refugee in New York and caring for her traumatised friend, Eva is on a mission - to seek revenge on her father for the crimes he committed during the war. Both girls have survived horrible atrocities and their stories are heartbreaking.

I loved the people at Powell House where Annemarie and Eva end up staying. Some were actual people and others were fictional, but they were all complex, well-developed and varied, and each contributed to the story. I loved how they welcomed the two girls with open arms and provided them with a sanctuary where they could rest and recover.

"Bluebird" was a well-researched novel which gave a different aspect to WWII. Full of twist and turns it was an intense read with drama, chase scenes and romance. It also had some darker issues including murder, suicide, sexual assault, animal cruelty and human experimentation. As such, I would only recommend this novel to older students. However, as a lover of history, I found it a compelling read.
Show Less

Language

Original language

English

Physical description

464 p.; 8.4 inches

ISBN

1338355961 / 9781338355963
Page: 0.1691 seconds