The Ghost in Apartment 2R

by Denis Markell

Book, 2020

Barcode

123462648

Call number

J 500 MAR

Collection

Publication

Yearling (2020), 320 pages

Description

What if there was a ghost in your brother's room? This kid-friendly mystery about three friends who try to help a restless spirit find peace is perfect for fans of Under the Egg and The Book Scavenger. It stinks that Danny's older brother moved out and went to college. But you know what's worse? He left behind an angry ghost in his room! With the help of his friends Nat and Gus, Danny interviews everyone his Brooklyn neighborhood to find out about spirits. Is it an Arabian ghoul? A Korean gwishin? A Polish haunting? Maybe the answer lies with Danny's own bubbe and her tales of a dybbuk, a Jewish mythological ghost. Regardless of its origins, what does the spirit truly want? And can Danny manage to bring the phantom to rest? "Gently scary with plenty of fun . . . absolutely delightful." --Kirkus Reviews "As addictive as your favorite video game. I couldn't put it down." --ADAM GIDWITZ, New York Times bestselling author of A Tale Dark and Grimm on Click Here to Start "This is one adventure no gamer should miss!" --GORDON KORMAN, New York Times bestselling author of Restart on Game Masters of Garden Place… (more)

User reviews

LibraryThing member JennyNau10
This book makes me want to visit Brooklyn. That said, I've never been so if the author wasn't geographically accurate, I'd never know. I'm shoving this into the hands of all the ghost hunting kids in my world the minute I get a real copy. It's scary and suspenseful all the while being
Show More
age-appropriate. I think grade school kids will love this book.
Show Less
LibraryThing member jennybeast
Decent read -- I liked the strong sense of place (Brooklyn), the diverse characters, and the ghost story. Unfortunately, I didn't really love the main character or his immediate family, so it was hard to stay engaged. Kids might like it better.

Language

Original language

English

Physical description

320 p.; 7.69 inches

ISBN

0525645748 / 9780525645740
Page: 0.1122 seconds