The Downing Street Years

by Margaret Thatcher

Hardcover, 1993




New York: HarperCollins, 1993.


This first volume of Margaret Thatcher's memoirs encompasses the whole of her time as Prime Minister - the formation of her goals in the early 1980s, the Falklands, the General Election victories of 1983 and 1987 and, eventually, the circumstances of her fall from political power. She also gives frank accounts of her dealings with foreign statesmen and her own ministers.

User reviews

LibraryThing member lunza
I was kind of disappointed, because it seemed to me like a laundry list of "and then I did this, and then I did that, and then I met this head of state, and then this bloody fool stabbed me in the back, and the liberals said this stupid thing." I am by no means a fan of her politics, but I used to
Show More
love to watch the PM's Question Time on C-SPAN because she was a marvelous debater. Maybe the volume that covers her early years would be more interesting to me.
Show Less
LibraryThing member RonManners
"No prime minister of modern times has sought to change Britain and its place in the world as radically as Margaret Thatcher. Her government was, she says, about the application of a philosophy, not the implementation of an administrative programme. She sets out here with characteristic
Show More
forcefulness and conviction the reasons for her beliefs and how she sought to put them into action. She gives riveting accounts of the great and critical moments of her premiership - the Falklands War, the Miners' strike, the Brighton bomb, the Westland Affair and her three election victories, Her judgements of other world statesmen and her Cabinet colleagues are often brutally frank, her criticism devastating. The book ends with an account of her last days in power which is as gripping as anything in thriller fiction."
Taken from the Back Cover.
Show Less
LibraryThing member charlie68
A riveting first hand account from the leader of Great Britain from 1979 to 1991. Some tedious bits about economic policy but generally interesting stuff.


Page: 0.3427 seconds