Lives of the Queens of England : from the Norman Conquest. 8 volumes

by Agnes Strickland

Hardcover, 1885




London : George Bell, 1885. Bound in full leather.


The English writer Agnes Strickland (1796-1874) began her career writing poetry and romances before turning to biographical studies. This eight-volume series, written in collaboration with her sister Elizabeth, and first published between 1840 and 1849, was her most ambitious project. It provides biographical accounts of the queens of England from Matilda of Flanders to Queen Anne. Hugely popular in the Victorian period, Lives of the Queens of England and its sequel Lives of the Queens of Scotland remain important landmarks in the development of biography as a genre, and provide interesting perspectives on women's contribution to modern historiography. Volume 2 contains accounts of the queens from Isabella of Valois (1313-1383) to Anne Boleyn (1501-1536), the second wife of Henry VIII. For more information on these authors, see and… (more)


Local notes

Page: 0.3195 seconds