The Complete Poetical Works of John Greenleaf Whittier

by John Greenleaf Whittier

Hardcover, 1892





Boston and New York, Houghton, Mifflin and Company, 1892

User reviews

LibraryThing member sallylou61
This collection is a selection of Whittier's poetry. It is divided into five sections: "Prophet of the Republic" (social reform, especially in relation to slavery), "The Warming Haze of Yesterday" (memories), "Snow-Bound" (a long single poem), "Crafting the Past" (long, narrative poems), and "Tokens of an Inward Journey" (religious poems). The editor provides introductions to the work as a whole, each section, and each poem. In many cases, I found the introductions more interesting than the poems themselves although I liked some of the poetry very much. I was disappointed in the selection of religious poems; I much preferred those published in Selections from the Religious Poems of John Greenleaf Whittier published by the Tract Association of Friends in 1999. I particularly missed "Dear Lord and Father of Mankind," a hymn which appears in hymnals of various religions, for which Whittier wrote the words.

Unfortunately, this paperback book was very poorly bound; although I bought it new several years ago, it feel apart as I was reading it.
… (more)



Page: 0.2902 seconds