The Symphony: A Listener's Guide

by Michael Steinberg

Paper Book, 1995




New York : Oxford University Press, 1995.


"Enriched by biographical detail, historical background, musical examples, and many finely nuanced observations, this volume is a treasury of insight and information. Readers will find illuminating discussion of the complete symphonies of Beethoven, Schumann, Brahms, Elgar, Sibelius, and Mahler, as well as of the most loved symphonic works of Schubert, Bruckner, Dvorak, Tchaikovsky, Vaughan Williams, Prokofiev, and others."--BOOK JACKET.

User reviews

LibraryThing member jwhenderson
This is a well-written guide to the symphonic repetoire by an experienced music critic, historian and annotator. In addition to the standard classic and romantic composers the author has included selected twentieth century symphonic works. Each entry is enriched by biographical detail, historical background and musical examples. This is a welcome introduction to music for both new and experienced listeners.… (more)



Page: 0.271 seconds