Peacock Pie: A Book of Rhymes

by Walter De la Mare

Other authorsF. Rowland Emett (Illustrator)
Hardcover, 1955




London: Faber & Faber, [1955]. Later printing


Presents a collection of poems first published in 1916 describing the capers of fairies, princes, beasts, children, witches, farmers, and kings.

User reviews

LibraryThing member AmiloFinn
There are some lovely little poems in this collection by Walter de la Mare. I would say they are not 'happy happy' poems but rather wistful, thoughtul, enchanting, sometimes filled with melancholy and mystery, often deeper than they may first appear. The Truants features the children 'magic hath
Show More
stolen away', Wanderers is about the movement of the planets, 'Poor Miss 7' lives lone and alone and Miss T has a strange metabolism 'whatever Miss T eats turns into Miss T'. Then there's the odd Hapless, Tired Tim and The Dunce and the mysterious 'Some one' a poem in a similar vain to my favourite Walter de la Mare poem 'The Listeners'.
Show Less



Page: 0.2628 seconds