Dear Treefrog

by Joyce Sidman

Hardcover, 2021

Status

Available

Publication

HMH Books for Young Readers (2021), 40 pages

Description

Capturing the joy of finding a kindred spirit, this stunning picture book by Newbery Honor-winning poet Joyce Sidman tells the story of a lonely girl moving into a new home and the little treefrog that helps her connect to the beautiful world around her. Perfect for fans of A Butterfly Is Patient andThey Saw a Cat. I See You suddenly among the tangled green a tiny dollop of frog where before there was only leaf   . . . Are you new here too? When a shy girl moves to a strange new home, she discovers a treefrog perched in a secret spot nearby and learns that sometimes, all it takes to connect with the people and the world around us is a little patience, a curious mind, and a willingness to see the world through a different perspective than your own. With beautiful gouache illustrations by Diana Sudyka and magical, perceptive poems from Newbery Honor-winning author Joyce Sidman, the lives of one tree frog and the girl who discovers it converge, bringing solace, courage, and joy in finding a kindred spirit. … (more)

User reviews

LibraryThing member sweetiegherkin
A young girl has just moved and takes an affinity to a treefrog in her new backyard. As the seasons change, will she meet new friends as well?

This is a sweet book for every young child who is a little bit introverted, preferring nature and quietude to noisy peers. Each page spread is a short poem
Show More
about the girl's journey on the left and a small fact about treefrogs on the bottom right.

The illustrations are gentle, fitting with the book's pacing. The girl is a very pale white, while classmates are children of color in some cases.
Show Less
LibraryThing member bookwren
As ever, Joyce Sidman is a marvel at melding poetry and science, but in Dear Treefrog, she adds a child's fears and hopes in moving to a new place and discovering how befriending nature leads to self-confidence and finding friends both 4-legged and 2-legged. Poems paired with natural history tell
Show More
the story of a shy girl who blossoms over the course of a year with the help of a gray treefrog in her garden. Includes an afterword: "More About Treefrogs and How to Welcome Them."
Show Less

Language

Original language

English

Physical description

11 inches

ISBN

0358064767 / 9780358064763

Barcode

397
Page: 0.092 seconds