The Game of Silence (Birchbark House, 2)

by Louise Erdrich

Paperback, 2006



Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction, The Game of Silence is the second novel in the critically acclaimed Birchbark House series by New York Times bestselling author Louise Erdrich.

Her name is Omakayas, or Little Frog, because her first step was a hop, and she lives on an island in Lake Superior. One day in 1850, Omakayas’s island is visited by a group of mysterious people. From them, she learns that the chimookomanag, or white people, want Omakayas and her people to leave their island and move farther west.

That day, Omakayas realizes that something so valuable, so important that she never knew she had it in the first place, could be in danger: Her way of life. Her home.

The Birchbark House Series is the story of one Ojibwe family’s journey through one hundred years in America.


HarperCollins (2006), Edition: Reprint, 288 pages


Original language


Original publication date



0064410293 / 9780064410298

Physical description

288 p.; 7.62 inches


1 copy
Page: 0.0855 seconds