Clementine

by Sara Pennypacker

Paperback, 2008

Status

Available

Local notes

PB Pen

Publication

Disney-Hyperion (2008), Edition: Reprint, Paperback, 160 pages

Description

While sorting through difficulties in her friendship with her neighbor Margaret, eight-year-old Clementine gains several unique hairstyles while also helping her father in his efforts to banish pigeons from the front of their apartment building.

Original publication date

2006

Physical description

160 p.; 7.66 inches

ISBN

0786838833 / 9780786838837

Barcode

1539

User reviews

LibraryThing member drholambda
Funny and quirky. Clementine is a great character with a unique outlook on life. Teachers are always telling Clementine to "Pay attention!" The thing is, she IS paying attention--just not to the things they think she should pay attention to. If you like Jack Gantos's Joey Pigza books, you'll love Clementine.
LibraryThing member tasha
I am a fan of books about real little girls who are not obsessed with being princesses, but are more down and dirty people who refuse to conform. And in Clementine, I found exactly that.

Clementine is an eight-year-old who struggles to pay attention at school and continually finds herself in the principal's office for some infraction. At the start of the book, Clementine finds her best friend and neighbor Margaret crying in the bathroom because she got glue in her hair and cut it out. Clementine offers to balance the haircut but it doesn't look right, so Margaret decides she should just cut all of it off. And Clementine does. "Which is not exactly easy with those plastic art scissors, let me tell you." And that is just the beginning of Clementine's week.

The writing is very funny and would be perfect to read aloud to a class of first or second graders. I think they would all find a piece of themselves in Clementine. The illustrations contribute so much to the book as well. Often things that are just mentioned in passing are captured in the pictures, make the book that much deeper. And we all know how important scattered pictures in a chapter book are. These illustrations will invite young readers in and the writing will keep them there.

Clementine is a small sweet treat of a book. And just like her namesake she lingers enjoyably on your palate as well. I only hope that we see more of her in the future.
… (more)
LibraryThing member abbylibrarian
Clementine is about as spunky a heroine as you can reasonably expect in a children's book. When she's not helping her friend chop off all her hair, she might be avoiding pointy things or trying to scare pigeons away from her apartment building. Although her intentions are always good, Clem finds it hard to settle down and the things she pays attention to (like the egg spot on her teacher's scarf) always seem to be the wrong things. Life is just tough when you're an artsy, interested third-grader with way too much energy.

Funny and light, this book will appeal to readers of Junie B. Jones and Ramona. The illustrations add much to the story and are reminiscent of the Ramona illustrations.
… (more)
LibraryThing member mbjuvholds
Clementine is sweet, spirited, and hilarious -- a character reminiscent of Beverly Cleary's "Ramona Quimby" or Barbara Parks' "Junie B. Jones." If you like Junie B. -- but not her poor grammar and sassy mouth -- you'll love Clementine.
LibraryThing member mayaspector
Move over, Ramona – Clementine’s arrived. This is one of the funniest, most enjoyable transitional chapter books to come along in quite a while. Clementine is eight years old, the daughter of an artist mother and building manager father, and having “not so good of a week.” She just can’t seem to stay out of trouble. She’s no stranger to the principal’s office, where she gets sent for helping her friend Margaret cut off all her hair. And she is unfairly told to pay attention all the time, when, of course, she is paying better attention than anyone. Just not to what her teacher thinks she should be paying attention to. Wonderful line drawings by Marla Frazee perfectly complement the story… (more)
LibraryThing member sckimmel
Clementine conquers all sorts of disasters with spunky persistence and unflagging optimism. She tries her best to help--but things do not always go as planned. Clementine is forever getting in trouble for not paying attention--but she is paying attention and seeing lots of things no one else would ever see.
LibraryThing member hezann73
Clementine is a little bit of Ramona and a little bit of Junie B. Jones. She doesn't mean to cause trouble, but it certainly finds her!
LibraryThing member adge73
This book made me laugh out loud a lot, just the sort of thing I love.
LibraryThing member wwlw
Pennypacker's young heroine is funny, feisty and a real treat as someone who is lively and has a great sense of self. Look for sequels: Very Talented Clementine and coming out 4/08, Clementine's Letter
LibraryThing member andreacarole
Clementine's got issues. Behavioral issues. And hair issues. But, hey, that's ok, because this is a really, really funny read for a 4th or 5th grader whose parents didn't mind Junie B. The fear of pointy things is a little unsettling, but okay, fine.
LibraryThing member jeriannthacker
Clementine is a third grader who means well, but always ends up in trouble. Similar to Ramona and Junie B., this is a humorous series for kids 7-11. The dialogue is honest, the character is entertaining and the series doesn't take itself too seriously.
LibraryThing member misserin
Clementine is the new Ramona! An ADD third grader who gets into more trouble than imaginable, but you can't help but laugh and love her! It only took me an hour to read, and every minute had me laughing out loud! Perfect read to lift your mood or read out loud to kids (or adults!) And thankfully, it's only the first of many "Clementine" books!!… (more)
LibraryThing member amandaknichols
Clementine tries to figure out how to fit in at school, and within her family. The character is defined by her actions and thoughts, which are shared with the reader. The plot is linear with a climactic moment. The setting is in Clementine's neighborhood and at her school, where disparate economic statuses are evident - even in her own building. The theme is how Clementine fits into the world around her, and how she feels different from everyone else - but how those around her value that. The text is written in chapter format, with illustrations on each page that depict the setting and text on the page. The cultural markers include references to Clementine's family's alternative way of life and her neighbors, who are more conventional - and wealthier. Culturally, this book depicts how the people in both situations really aren't that different. Recommended for an elementary school library or for a youth section of a public library. Very popular with middle to upper elementary school girls.… (more)
LibraryThing member bibliophile26
A troublemaker much in the same vein as Junie B. Jones, but much more appealing because she doesn't have the sassy attitude Junie B. does.
LibraryThing member aswideman
I would read this book to first or second graders. It is about a young girl that is trouble maker who is having a horrible week. This is a good story to read that children can relate to easily because they all have been in bad situations. They just have to learn how to handle some situations.
LibraryThing member julie_savage
This is one of the funniest, most enjoyable early chapter books that I have ever read. Clementine is the eight years old daughter of an artist mother and building manager father, and having “not so good of a week.” She is always in trouble. She’s often in the principal’s office, where she gets sent for helping her friend Margaret cut off all her hair. And she is unfairly told to pay attention all the time, when, of course, she is paying better attention than anyone. Just not to what her teacher thinks she should be paying attention to.… (more)
LibraryThing member emgriff
Clementine is a third grader whose well-intentioned schemes are always getting her into trouble. This book invites the reader into her world in which it is completely understandable how Clementine could think that cutting off her best friend's hair is an act of kindness, that her parents plan to give her away, and that she is always paying attention -- even if it's to everything BUT what the teacher is saying. Clementine is an original character with a free-spirit, a unique perspective, and really hip, understanding parents. The book has a great, clever sense of humor that children and adults will appreciate. The pen and ink illustrations enhance the text perfectly and even add their own touches of humor. Highly recommended for 2nd through 5th grade readers.… (more)
LibraryThing member lauraejensen
A wonderful choice for beginning chapter/novel reading. A Ramona for the next (next next) generation. A silly, lovable girl, Clementine gets into lots of trouble, every day. This book features a haircut gone wrong. I think this book was about me! Clementine's family lives in an apartment, her father is the building manager, her mom is an artist, so this job presents 'real life.' Clementine is also philosophical, and realizes she accepts her less than perfect life and 'not from a magazine parents' Pennypacker does a beautiful job of giving us a 3rd graders point of view.… (more)
LibraryThing member rfewell
A fun story about a young girl named Clementine who cannot sit still.
LibraryThing member librarymeg
Reading Clementine was a delightful way to spend my lunch hour! She is rambunctious, sweet, funny, honest, and the kind of child who would be her parents' greatest joy and hardest trial. Having said that, she's also completely wonderful. I was reminded of Ramona Quimby from my childhood years, but I think Clementine's modern sense of humor and hip parents make her fresh and a wonderful new character for readers young and old.… (more)
LibraryThing member anniecase
This is a must-read for any teacher, librarian, parent or child. The style is easy and the adventures are adorable. It's hard not to love Clementine for all her faults.
LibraryThing member APoteet
Eight-year-old Clementine struggles to get along with her neighbor Margaret; both girls end up with colorful, bald scalps. She helps her father fight the Great Pigeon Wars outside their apartment building, and worries that her parents are almost through putting up with her unusual ways.
LibraryThing member corinne331
While sorting through difficulties in her friendship with her neighbor Margaret, eight-year-old Clementine gains several unique hairstyles while also helping her father in his efforts to banish pigeons from the front of their apartment building.
LibraryThing member missrader
A hilarious book that reminded me a lot of Ramona Quimby. Very engaging, you really want to find out what Clementine is going to do next.
LibraryThing member afmteacher
Sarah Pennypacker has created an independent and quirky character for whom trouble seems to follow. Kids will love her honesty and good intentions, even when they cause her to loose a best friend, or try the patience of her principal. Watch for more of Clementine's adventures to follow!

Pages

160

Rating

(393 ratings; 4.2)
Page: 0.5105 seconds