The Warden / Barchester Towers

by Anthony Trollope

Hardcover, 1952

Call number




The Book League of America (1952)


The Warden is the first novel in Anthony Trollope's Chronicles of Barsetshire series. The book centers around an elderly warden named Septimus Harding who also serves as a precentor at Barchester Cathedral. Find out what happens when a young reformer named John Bold launches a campaign against Harding.Barchester Towers is the second novel in the Chronicles of Barsetshire series. The action centers around the leading clergy in Barchester after the recent death of its much loved bishop. The Warden and Barchester Towers were adapted into film by the BBC in 1982.Anthony Trollope was one of the greatest English authors during the Victorian era. Trollope was a prolific writer and he is best known for classics such as The Way We Live Now and his series of six novels known as The Chronicles of Barsetshire.… (more)

Page: 0.2322 seconds