John: A Novel

by Niall Williams

Hardcover, 2008

Call number

FIC WIL

Collection

Publication

Bloomsbury USA (2008), Edition: Complete Numbers Starting with 1, 1st Ed, 288 pages

Description

In the tradition of Jim Crace's Quarantine and Anita Diamant's The Red Tent, John is a stunning, lyrical reimagining of John the Apostle in the final years of his life, by the critically acclaimed and bestselling author of Four Letters of Love. To be published in print by Bloomsbury in February 2008. In the years following the death of Jesus Christ, John the Apostle, now a frail, blind old man, lives in forced exile on the desolate island of Patmos with a small group of his disciples. Together, the group has endured their banishment, but after years awaiting Christ's return, fissures form within their faith, and, inevitably, one of John's followers disavows Christ's divinity and breaks away from the community, threatening to change the course of Christianity. When the Roman emperor lifts the banishment of Christians, John and his followers are permitted to return to Ephesus, a chaotic world of competing religious sects where Christianity is in danger of vanishing. It is against this turbulent background-and inspired by Jesus's radical message of love and forgiveness-that John comes to dictate his Gospel. Immensely impressive-and based on actual historical events-John is at once an ambitious and provocative reimagining of the last surviving apostle and a powerful look at faith and how it lives and dies in the hearts of men. At a time when many remain skeptical about religion but still thirst for spiritual fulfillment, Niall Williams's extraordinary and masterful new novel reveals a universally appealing message of hope and love.… (more)

User reviews

LibraryThing member KWharton
I liked the idea of this book, but not the writing style.

Awards

Audie Award (Finalist — 2009)

Pages

288

ISBN

159691467X / 9781596914674
Page: 1.3155 seconds