The Silence of Winter: Part 2 (The Discovery - A Lancaster County Saga)

by Wanda E. Brunstetter

Paperback, 2013



Call number



Shiloh Run Press (2013), 128 pages


Fiction. Romance. Christian Fiction. HTML: Meredith Stoltzfus longs for the sound of her husband's voice. She needs to know Luke has arrived safely in Indiana and hear his excitement about a new career opportunity. Most of all, she needs reassurance of his love. Financial stress has taken its toll. Surely this new job will be the light at the end of the dark tunnel their young marriage seems to be trapped in. And maybe this call would be a good time to finally share her big news. . . . but Luke's call never comes. Instead, Meredith receives news that tears her heart to shreds and leaves her in a dark pit of despair. How will she go on?.

User reviews

LibraryThing member passionforbooks
The Saga Continues!

Meredith learns of bad news about Luke and she is devastated. Things changed in just a blink of an eye. Life will never be the same. Meredith is beside herself but knows life must go on especially now that she has more than just herself to think about.

One day a knock comes at her
Show More
door. An old friend shows up to offer Meredith support and to see if she is in need of help.

Who is this old friend? Will this be the beginning of new changes for Meredith?

Once again Wanda Brunstetter left us with a cliff hanger! I can't wait to read The Hope of Spring to find out what happens next.

You will love this series!
Show Less
LibraryThing member wearylibrarian
This book was very disappointing. I just cannot get into this series.
LibraryThing member rhonda1111

The Silence of Winter jumps right back into the story. It keeps you wanting to read about these characters. Their are some new ones added to the stories. This one too ends in a cliffhanger. It is a Amish story and a clean read too. Not a stand alone series its one that you will want to read
Show More
it in order too.

Meredith gets the good news she is expecting. Before she has a chance to tell anyone she gets bad news.
Meredith is coping with a lot of things right now. Trying to make plans at a time like this is tough.
I admit I shed some tears with her too.

A old boyfriend stops by to visit at the right time when she is in need.
I will be starting book three right away to see what will happen next.
I was given this ebook to read and asked to give honest review of it when finished by Netgalley.
Published March 1st 2013 by Barbour Books 128 pages ISBN: 1620291436
Show Less
LibraryThing member MonicaLynn
This jumps right in where we left off in book 1. Meredith, finds out she is going to have a baby and is so excited and wishing Luke were home to tell. He is on his way to Indiana to Uncle Amos to learn a new trade. Before the evening of finding out her good news is over she finds out that Luke has
Show More
been killed in a tragic bus accident and there are no remains so they have no body.

However what they do not know is Luke is in a Coma in a Hospital in Philadelphia and no one knows who he is.

Meredith is trying to move on with her life and deal with her loss, and an old boyfriend arrives in town and comes a calling with his condolences, just as Meredith is having pains and concerns for the baby she is carrying.

I am excited to dive into the next one I am loving these characters.
Show Less
LibraryThing member jnut1
I enjoyed the second of 6, can't wait for the next one to see what happens to Luke and Meredith.

Luke has traveled to his uncles to learn the business but at the bus station he gets attacked, the person who beat him up stole his id and when he was killed in a bus accident the family was told that
Show More
Luke was killed.
Show Less
LibraryThing member SABC
Meredith Stoltzfus doesn't hear from her husband Luke who has traveled to Indiana for a new career opportunity. Instead she receives sad news.
LibraryThing member judyg54
This is book 2 in this 6 book series. All the stories are very quick reads and they all pick right up where the other one leaves off. Would be very hard to read these stories out of order; you would loose the whole plot.

In this story Meredith waits for Luke's phone call that he has arrived safely
Show More
in Indiana and all is well. What she ends up with though is news that will "tear her heart to shreds". How can she go on after learning of her husband's death in a tragic bus accident? The hope of her baby growing inside of her keeps her pushing forward. What she doesn't know though is that because of unusual circumstances. her husband was never on that bus, but in a hospital in a coma, with no identity papers on him. How will this turn out? You have to keep reading the next story to discover this.
Show Less
LibraryThing member fcplcataloger
The Silence of Winter is the second part of the serial The Discovery and it involves mistaken identity, a seriously injured young man, and a wife who thinks that her husband has died. Meredith Stoltzfus is anxiously waiting for her husband Luke to return home to Lancaster County after a short stay
Show More
with his uncle in Indiana so that she can tell him that they are going to have their first baby. The news that Luke was involved in a fiery bus crash leaves Meredith devastated and fearful that her intense grief may jeopardize the life of her unborn baby.

Wanda E. Brunstetter has once again written a story filled with hope and faith and the values that we associate with Amish living. Several other characters are introduced and since this is part two of a six-part serial, there are many questions left to be answered. Brunstetter's knowledge of the Amish is very evident in this book and I recommend it all who enjoy reading about the Amish religion. I look forward to reading The Hope of Spring, the next book in this series.
Show Less
LibraryThing member JenniferRobb
This is the second book in a 6 part series/serial. All 6 of the books were on a library sale rack. We're kind of in the odd position of knowing both parts of the story as the reader while the characters in the story do not know things that we know.

I know some readers are loving the serial novel
Show More
idea and others dislike it. I kind of feel like this book had nothing happen in its 126 pages. Especially for the $6.99 original price! One character spends the entire book in a coma (with only one brief excursion into his thoughts.) It feels like Meredith spends part of the book bemoaning being left at home alone and the other part mourning.
Show Less


Original language


Original publication date


Physical description

7.5 inches


1620291436 / 9781620291436
Page: 0.3509 seconds