The Prophet: The Biblical Story of Amos (Sons of Encouragement Series Book 4)

by Francine Rivers

Hardcover, 2006



Call number



Tyndale House Publishers (2006), 224 pages


Fiction. Literature. Historical Fiction. HTML:Book 4 in the 5-book biblical historical fiction series by the New York Times bestselling author of Redeeming Love and A Voice in the Wind. A man of solitude, who felt at home among the hills. A man of conviction, who heard when God called. A man of fortitude, who spoke to a nation willing to listen. The Israelites rebelled against God and were devoured by war. But first, they were warned by Amos, a prophet who refused to turn away. Be challenged by this faithful man whose story we must never forget. The Prophet is the story of Amos and book four in the popular Sons of Encouragement series about five men who quietly changed eternity. This novella includes an in-depth Bible study perfect for personal reflection or group discussion..… (more)

User reviews

LibraryThing member quinera
I thought this book was an interesting look into the character of Amos. I loved the insights with the sheep and the relationship of an Old Testament shephed with his flock. The book includes most, if not all, of the text of the book of Amos, but it is woven into the plot seamlessly. Another
Show More
excellent entry into this series of novellas.
Show Less
LibraryThing member Jennydearnley
I really enjoyed this book. It spoke so clearly to me and the book of Amos in the Bible speaks to us all giving us revelation of how God deals with individuals and nations that are stiff necked and refuse to acknowledge him.
Seems that nothing much in history has changed.

I could not wait to see what
Show More
would happen next. A very enjoyable experience and simply put so that I could understand it.
Show Less


Original language


Original publication date


Physical description

224 p.; 7.25 inches


0842382682 / 9780842382687



Similar in this library

Page: 0.3108 seconds