The Book of Lost Tales: Pt. 2 (History of Middle-Earth S.)

by J.R.R. Tolkien

Paperback, 1986



Call number




HarperCollins (1986), Paperback


Fantasy. Fiction. HTML: The Book of Lost Tales was the first major work of imagination by J.R.R. Tolkien, begun in 1916, when he was twenty-five years old, and left incomplete several years later. It stands at the beginning of the entire conception of Middle-earth and Valinor, for the Lost Tales were the first form of the myths and legends that came to be called The Silmarillion. Embedded in English legend and association, they are set in the narrative frame of the great westward voyage of a mariner named Eriel (or AElfwine). His destination is Tol Eressea, the Lonely Isle where Elves dwell; from them he learns their true history, the Lost Tales of Elfinesse. The Tales include the earliest accounts of Gods and Elves, Dwarves, Balrogs, and Orcs; of the Silmarils and the Two Trees of Valinor; of Nargothrond and Gondolin; of the geography and cosmography of their invented world. The Book of Lost Tales is published in two volumes. The first contains the Tales of Valinor; and this second past includes Beren and Luthien, Turin and the Dragon, and the only full narratives of the Necklace of the Dwarves and the Fall of Gondolin. Each tale is followed by a commentary, together with associated poems, and each volume contains extensive information on names and vocabulary of the earliest Elvish languages. Additional books in this series will extend the history of Middle-earth as it was refined and enlarged in later years and will include the long Lays of Beleriand, the Ambarkanta or Shape of the World, the Lhammas or Account of Tongues, annals, maps, and many other previously unpublished writings of J.R.R. Tolkien..… (more)

User reviews

LibraryThing member ex_ottoyuhr
Read this one for Tevildo. The earliest form of Sauron is a gigantic, demonic cat, who actually doesn't forget his roots in being gigantic and demonic. The first form of _The Tale of Beren and Luthien_ is one of the funniest things I've read, and not out of mockery or embarrassment, but because it
Show More
had a _right_ to be that funny. It wouldn't have worked on its own, without the Silmarillion to provide a reference point, but since we have the latter, we should enjoy.

The second half of the earliest Silmarillion, with the three Great Tales -- Beren, Turin, and Tuor (remember him? Gondolin?) -- in surprisingly recognizable form, and Christopher Tolkien's characteristic style of vivid, deadpan scholarly commentary.
Show Less
LibraryThing member oraclejenn
If you are going to read the Silmarillion, do not read this book (or Part one for that matter). This book contains some of the stories the Silmarillion has with pages and pages of notes from Christopher Tolkien about the changes and different version that were found.

While I am interested in the
Show More
progress needed to write something of this magnitude, explaining every little change really pulled me out of the story.
Show Less


Mythopoeic Awards (Finalist — 1985)


Original publication date


Physical description

400 p.; 7.64 inches


0048233382 / 9780048233387
Page: 0.6265 seconds