Rise of the Mystics (Beyond the Circle Book 2)

by Ted Dekker

Paperback, 2018

Status

Available

Call number

813.54

Publication

Revell, a Division of Baker Publishing Group (2018), 416 pages

Description

Fiction. Suspense. HTML: Some say the great mystery of how one can live in two worlds at once died with Thomas Hunter many years ago. Still others that the gateway to that greater reality was and is only the stuff of dreams. They are all wrong. Rachelle Matthews, who grew up in the small town of Eden, Utah, discovered just how wrong when she dreamed and awoke in another world. There she learned that she was the 49th Mystic, the prophesied one, tasked with finding five ancient seals before powerful enemies destroy her. If Rachelle succeeds in her quest, peace will reign. If she fails, the world will forever be locked in darkness. In The 49th Mystic, Rachelle found the first three of those five seals through great peril and mind-altering adventure. But two seals remain hidden and the fate of both worlds hangs in their balance. As Rachelle Matthews sits deep in a dungeon, Vlad Smith is just getting started. Thomas Hunter's world is about to be turned inside out. The mystics say that there is no defense against the Fifth Seal�??but finding it will cost Rachelle everything. So begins the final volume of high stakes in one girl's quest to find an ancient path that will save humanity. The clock is ticking; the end rushes forward. Ready? Set? Dream.… (more)

Language

Original language

English

ISBN

0800735048 / 9780800735043

User reviews

LibraryThing member TABrowne
Rise of the Mystics is a wonderful book. I love how it wraps up all the different parts of the circle books. You don't necessarily have to have read the Circle Trilogy but you do need to read the 49th Mystic (beyond the circle two) first. Having read that first book will add depth and understanding
Show More
to Rise of the Mystics. I love how it really gets to how what is inside of us and in our hearts is what matters and what makes us clean or unclean.
This book has it all. Adventure, meaning and romance all meet to lead one towards understanding God and ourselves. Using allegory it leads you towards more understanding of God's love and sacrifice for you.
I was given an ARC in exchange for a review.
Show Less
LibraryThing member jfe16
Rachelle Matthews is one of the few people who can cross over into Other Earth, a dimension mirroring Earth. She reaches Other Earth in her dreams for she is the prophesied 49th Mystic, now caught in a desperate race against time and her own fears to find and recover the ancient Five Seals of
Show More
Truth. If Rachelle fails in her quest, destruction awaits the Realm of the Mystics in Other Earth and an unknown, terrible threat awaits Earth.

As “The 49th Mystic,” the first volume in this series, drew to a close, Rachelle had found three of the seals, and the town of Eden had met an unexpected fate. Now, as “Rise of the Mystics” begins, she finds herself in Other Earth, imprisoned in a dark dungeon. Can Rachelle, following the ancient path, find the final two seals that will save humanity before time runs out?

To experience the full impact of this epic tale, readers are encouraged to read the first book in the series before reading this final volume. However, readers new to the series will appreciate the brief overview of the events recounted in “The 49th Mystic” that is included in this volume.

As good and evil battle for dominance, the amazing saga unfolds, weaving truth and love into a riveting narrative bursting with profound significance. It will challenge readers to abandon the masks they hide behind, the masks that blind them, and encourage them to examine truth in a new light. Like its predecessor, this book is can’t-put-it-down spectacular. Don’t miss this one.

Highly recommended.

I received a free copy of this book through the Goodreads First Reads program
Show Less
LibraryThing member amaryann21
This is the second in the Beyond the Circle duo. Rachelle has found three of the seals, but needs to find the last two before the Realm of Mystics is destroyed.

Like The 49th Mystic, Dekker goes back and forth between the Earth we're all familiar with and Other Earth, where Rachelle is known as the
Show More
mystic and rushing to prevent war among the tribes there. The Christian message continues and challenges some commonly held ideas about God. This book, compared to the first, felt a little redundant at times with several repetitions of the seals. Overall, a good message and lots of action.
Show Less
LibraryThing member dutchgirldtd
I read the Circle books many years ago and don't remember much about them other than the basic premise, but that was enough for me to enjoy and get a lot of out of this book and its predecessor, The 49th Mystic. I have heard that the author had a spiritual awakening some years before writing this,
Show More
and it is evident in the book. While the story takes place in the same two worlds as the Circle, there is much more spiritual depth and searching and growth here. Even if one doesn't completely agree with the theology presented here, the book is a worthy read and a valuable spiritual exercise for Christians.
Show Less
LibraryThing member Barb_H
This was an Advanced Reader's Copy from LibraryThing Early Reviewer Giveaway.

This book picked up right where the first book left off. It took a little while to really build up steam, but about halfway through the pace picked up quite a bit and it became difficult to put it down. I'd recommend it
Show More
for fans of Ted Dekker and Christian Sci-Fi. It's a bit heavy handed on the preachiness that might be a turn off to non Christians.
Show Less
LibraryThing member snotbottom
I had the first book in the series "The 49th Mystic" in my to-read pile for a while. When I was contacted by LibraryThing saying I was going to receive this one I had to scrabmle to get them both read in a timely manner to provide this review, especially when the author says right on the front page
Show More
that he recommends that you read them in order!

This book picks up right where the first one finishes, so I'll second the author's recommendation, read the first one first.

This book continues Rachelle's journey as she discovers the truths surrounding the final two seals. We also uncover who really has been orchestrating the events that have been occuring in her life, and why. While I personally enjoyed the first book more that this one, I still recommend this one as well. Dekker's storytelling and the way he weaves principles of his faith into the storyline are always well done. They really are a part of the story, as opposed to simply plugging verses or quotes and trying to make them fit. I'd put him in the same class as C.S. Lewis in his ability to weave his faith into his fiction.

Well done, Mr. Dekker.
Show Less
LibraryThing member avanders
Review based on ARC (Advanced Readers Copy received for free in exchange for an honest review).

The first and only Dekker I have read is the Circle Trilogy. I bought Green as soon as it was released, but I hadn't found time to read it. Winning this book pushed me back to Dekker (as I hoped it
Show More
would!) and the world of Thomas Hunter. I still have not read Green, though I understand that that may be preferable in light of the path taken w/ these books.

I love how Dekker writes such fast-paced, interesting, and deeply considered books. I felt that this book (and its predecessor) were no different. I am always quickly drawn into the story and find myself running along with the characters.

I also love the concept of the Other Earth and how he has executed it in these books. I am always interested in good speculative fiction, and this is no exception. And I am not put off by the Christian aspects. Of course, as a Christian myself, I am not deeply offended by the theology, but I also find that Dekker has a knack for weaving it into a story in a way that isn't too clunky. Maybe heavy handed for a few, but generally palatable for most and very thought-provoking for some.

Overall, I recommend this "continued" series for people who enjoy speculative fiction, quick-paced thriller'y type books (at which Dekker excels), and don't mind a little Christian theology thrown in there. FOUR of five stars.
Show Less
LibraryThing member Virginia51
This was the second book in a fantastic fantasy series. Rachelle was a girl that heard voices as she grew up and then had nightmares. Make sure to read these books in order. You must read The 49th Mystic first to understand all of the horrific things that Rachelle goes through to find the five
Show More
seals and save two worlds. I received a copy of this book from Revell for a fair and honest opinion that I gave of my own free will.
Show Less
LibraryThing member sn11386
"Rise of the Mystics" is the second book in the Circle series. At times I was lost but I have a feeling it is because I didn't read the first book. Ted Dekker had a catch-up section to refresh and summarize what happened in the first book.

Rachelle is at war between the mind and heart. She is
Show More
learning what it means to live without judgment including self-doubt. Our society makes us feel like we have to hide behind masks. Rachelle and other supporting characters seem to have some growth. This book feels relatable with real-life struggles such as fear, doubt, and uncertainty. There is a lot of spiritual depth. It has a New Age vibe to Christianity. Derrek does a wonderful job explaining spiritual truth in an easy way to understand. His characters are relatable.

This is a faith-driven speculative thriller that makes you use your brain. I'd advise you not to skim the pages because you will get lost. At times the plot seems to be moving at a nice past and other times it moved really slow causing me to be bored. At times the dialogue seems forced and doesn't go along with the characters. Maybe it is just how I envisioned the characters in my head. When I got to the end of the book I felt like things weren't wrapped up. His recap on what important events that happened from book one "The 49th Mystic" at the beginning. When it comes to book series I always love authors doing a recap, glossary and character descriptions. For not reading the previous books I didn't mind it. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't outstanding either. It was an interesting read. The Rise of the Mystic is full of heart and is very intense.

The book was provided to me by Revell Publishing Company for an honest opinion of the book.
Show Less
LibraryThing member hes7
Rise of the Mystics continues Rachelle’s story that began in The 49th Mystic. If you haven’t read the first book, definitely do not start this one; it won’t make much sense.

Now, I don’t want to say too much about Rise of the Mystics story-wise to avoid spoiling it. Still, I generally
Show More
enjoyed seeing how the story continued and concluded. Rachelle proved to be a fascinating character, and her emotional journey is an intriguing one.

A thought-provoking one, too. As expected, this second Beyond the Circle delves into theological matters—and I’m still not sure how I feel about what Dekker suggests. Generally, I appreciate challenges to my theology, making me think about and reflect on the truth. But after loving, loving, loving The Circle, this duology’s “preaching” did not feel right. Of course, it did not help that much of the theology expressed in Rise of the Mystics felt like repetition, especially after The 49th Mystic.

I may give a reread of the Beyond the Circle books a chance down the road, but for now, I still prefer the original Black-Red-White saga.

I received a complimentary copy of this book and the opportunity to provide an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review, and all the opinions I have expressed are my own.
Show Less

Similar in this library

Page: 0.1615 seconds