Mandy (Julie Andrews Collection)

by Julie Andrews Edwards

Paperback, 2006

Status

Available

Local notes

PB Edw

Publication

HarperCollins (2006), Edition: Revised, 320 pages

Description

Longing for a place of her own, a ten-year-old orphan creates a secret home in a deserted cottage in the village of St. Martin's Green.

Language

Original language

English

Original publication date

1971

Physical description

320 p.; 5.13 inches

ISBN

0061207071 / 9780061207075

Barcode

854

User reviews

LibraryThing member Amespo
I received this book as a gift when I was small (around 7 maybe?), and read the HECK out of it! The front cover is completely gone, and I doodled on the inside at some point. I'm not an orphan myself, but somehow this character really spoke to me, about wanting a secret place all of her own. Something she could be proud of, and take care of. I have wonderful gardens and stone-paved walkways in my mind, inspiration from Mandy!… (more)
LibraryThing member shatteredreflections
This book is perhaps one of my all time favorites. I remember reading it again and again as a little kid. Over the years I had lost my copy and recently, a new one showed up in the mail from my mom. I read it again and I still love it. Im not an orphan, but I can really identify with Mandy's need to find something to "call her own". Great book and a book that I think should be on every little girls bookshelf.… (more)
LibraryThing member jjallen
This was a cute book that was fun to read. I also like how it goes by season, and you can see the progress in Mandy's cottage.
LibraryThing member YeloLabLov
Oh my goodness, I cried when she was in pain, I giggled when she got surprises, and felt the same love she did for her garden. This is a VERY heart warming book and I recommend it for all who need to know there is someone out there for them and for everyone who is loved, has loved, or does love.

: )
LibraryThing member Heather19
I used to love this book, I wished I had what Mandy had.
LibraryThing member Kegsoccer
"Mandy" by Julie Andrews Edwards is a delightful tale about an orphan who finds an abandoned cottage and tries to make it her own. Mandy's character is easy to love and you are drawn right into the story. Whenever Mandy is hiding from her roommate, you are holding your breath right along with her! There are several hard lessons that Mandy has to learn and I think that once she's set on the right track, she makes a good role model for girls everywhere.

I would definitely recommend this book. And if you enjoy this story, you'll probably like The Secret Garden (HarperClassics) by Frances Hodgson Burnett.
… (more)
LibraryThing member foggidawn
Mandy, a ten-year-old orphan, finds an abandoned cottage in the woods near her orphanage. For an entire summer, she tends the garden and cleans the cottage, pretending that it is her home. She keeps it secret from everyone, even her best friend at the orphanage, and does some lying and even some stealing (dishes and silverware) in order to keep up the pretense. When she is discovered, however, it ends up leading to something even better.

There's just something magical and appealing about a secret garden, and Mandy is such a great character -- likable, though flawed. The language feels a little dated in places (the girls say things like "Golly!" and "That would be just super!") The date is never specified, but I'd guess the story is set in the '50s (it was first published in 1971). All in all, a very enjoyable read, and one I would recommend to readers who enjoy The Secret Garden, Anne of Green Gables, and other childhood classics.
… (more)
LibraryThing member t1bclasslibrary
This book is intriguing because Mandy (whose dreaminess and imagination I identify with) discovers a cottage and turns it into something of her own. She's doing this for all manner of psychological reasons related to the loss of her familly, but I just loved hearing about how she fixed up that cottage.
LibraryThing member Jammies
Oh, wow, I remember this book. I didn't usually want to be an orphan, but I sure did want to find and rescue a little house for my very own!
LibraryThing member periwinklejane
I didn't learn that Mary Poppins wrote childrens' books until a few years ago. That's a darn shame because child-me would have looooooved this book: orphans, gardening, secret cottages, and the wee-est, twee-est amount of conflict.
LibraryThing member thatotter
This is another book I read over and over as a kid. Orphan fantasies FTW.
LibraryThing member KarryD
I first read this as a child and have been looking for it for years. I couldn't remember the title (actually, I was remembering the title incorrectly) I finally found it, about a week ago, after doing an internet search using a short synopsis- thank goodness for the internet! I had to read it again, now I am very excited to share it with my granddaughters! Such a sweet story, just as fun as I remembered it being.… (more)
LibraryThing member Cheryl_in_CC_NV
A bit awkwardly written in parts, and utterly implausible, but nonetheless a sweet story. Consider it an old-fashioned fairy tale like The Secret Garden and (assuming you like those) you'll probably like this.
LibraryThing member mkunruh
This was one of my all time favorite reads as a child. I'm a bit afraid to read it now, and see how unlovely it is (if that's the case). I had no idea who Julie Andrews was when I read it (or at least I don't think I did).
LibraryThing member bunny4
i like it a lot!

Similar in this library

Lexile

730L

Pages

320

Rating

(223 ratings; 4.1)
Page: 0.3724 seconds