The complete poetical works of John Greenleaf Whittier

by John Greenleaf Whittier

Hardcover, 1879



Call number

L WHI (not for loan)


London : Macmillan and Co., 1879.

User reviews

LibraryThing member sallylou61
This collection is a selection of Whittier's poetry. It is divided into five sections: "Prophet of the Republic" (social reform, especially in relation to slavery), "The Warming Haze of Yesterday" (memories), "Snow-Bound" (a long single poem), "Crafting the Past" (long, narrative poems), and "Tokens of an Inward Journey" (religious poems). The editor provides introductions to the work as a whole, each section, and each poem. In many cases, I found the introductions more interesting than the poems themselves although I liked some of the poetry very much. I was disappointed in the selection of religious poems; I much preferred those published in Selections from the Religious Poems of John Greenleaf Whittier published by the Tract Association of Friends in 1999. I particularly missed "Dear Lord and Father of Mankind," a hymn which appears in hymnals of various religions, for which Whittier wrote the words.

Unfortunately, this paperback book was very poorly bound; although I bought it new several years ago, it feel apart as I was reading it.
… (more)

Local notes

inscriptions: L. Emma Sayce, Hawthorn; L. E. Walker

Similar in this library

Call number

L WHI (not for loan)
Page: 0.1497 seconds